A Productive Fortnight – 12 good things

It’s always really amusing to me how much we think we’re “so busy” and then, when it comes to writing it all down, it just sounds pathetic. I’m pretty sure this is because we ignore all the sub-tasks for a project. For example, if I told you I added quarter round trim in my master bedroom closet it sounds a little woopie-de-doo. But if I talked about moving out the dog kennels, 16 boxes in the corner, going through all my hanging clothes and pulling out things for donation/consignment, vacuuming the floor, nailing in the baseboards again (they were too high), measuring 7 lengths of quarter round (16 cuts total), nailing it all in, crawling around on my hands and knees with the caulking gun, taping off the floor and painting it all white THEN it sounds a little bit more productive.

Often we ignore all the little tasks and then don’t do the big ones because it feels too massive to start. Here are 12 things I’ve accomplished since Jan 1st.

1. The gutters I took down in summer 2015 have been in the side yard leaning against the fence right outside my office window. Not hurting anything but I see them every day I’m working and wow they are ugly! So on Friday I moved them to the front yard. I just dumped them, unceremoniously on the grass and went about my afternoon.

Today, Saturday, I used the metal shears to cut the longest piece into 2 smaller pieces, wrapped the end in a blanket so I wouldn’t get shanked in the eye, loaded them in my car and took them to the dump. Free to drop off at the scrap metal area. Something that’s been hanging around for 18 months is gone and it only took 30 minutes but I had to do that first step of moving them out.

While we’re not quite halfway into January, I am really happy about how much I’ve been able to accomplish personally and around the house. I updated my 2017 personal goals here and I’m already making progress.

2. I set a goal to read a book a week, 2 are already done.

3. I set the goal to workout 3x a week (minimum) with my trainer, 6 sessions are complete.

4. After a fender bender in December the Yaris is going into the shop for bodywork. I’ve cleaned most everything out and will be restocking the trunk with my emergency supplies when it returns. As soon as I get it back it goes to the dealer for a recall on the airbags. I’ve also got a new air filter to replace and 4 new hubcaps since mine are cracked and falling apart.

5. I started the quarter round trim the first week of January, adding 5 pieces of baseboard to the living room, replacing 1 piece in the hall closet + 1 more so far in the guest room. As of today the hallway, hall closet, living room, dining room and master bedroom are complete and I’ve started caulk and tape in the master bedroom closet. By my count that’s 41 lengths of quarter round so far done and another 13 in the guest room and 13 in the office.

6. The final in-house light was added this week with a can light above the guest bathtub. It’s pretty small but makes a big difference in lighting in this darker corner of the bathroom. There are drawbacks to having no windows in these rooms!

desktop

7. Outside – With a break in the rain I’ve caught up on a few of the outdoor chores, namely dumping buckets of water so I don’t end up living in mosquito heaven this spring. I mowed the front lawn which is coming back with a vengeance with all this rain and already mentioned taking in the gutters to the dump. Since it’s January I’m now cutting back the rose bushes and want to pull out most of the bougainvillea which has grown too wild in the side yard and is a constant mess. The dirt from the front yard where we took out a tree still needs to be evened out, when it’s dry enough I’ll keep shoveling that into the backyard and flower beds.

8. Christmas decor is all packed up again and I found a number of items I could donate. Additionally, I put all the ornaments in smaller bankers boxes so they fit easily at the top of my master bedroom closet. This freed up a lot of room in the garage.

9. I’d picked up a bottle of wine for a friend from college who got married last year and got that sent off in the mail last week.

10. Another little win is replacing the light bulbs in the fixture in the living room. They don’t screw in and are tricky to yank out so I got that done since 2 of the 4 had burnt out. It makes a big difference in the light situation, especially during storms, and it’s hard to believe there was no overhead light here when I bought the place.

11. I found amazing deals on 2 new rugs and they were delivered last week. Until the trim is done I’m keeping them in plastic but once I finish painting trim I’ll be rolling them out in the living room and office.

12. Finally, I’ve started working with a charity that I support here in town to sew burp rags (shared some of them here) throughout the year. That required pulling out the stash of fabric I already had, matching it up, purchasing new fabric to match and then 18 new yards of fabric to get the number that I agreed to create. All the fabric is in a big bin in the living room and once I get started on trim in the guest room I’ll pull the sewing machine out. While I would love to get started, this really is a perfect rainy day project so I’m focusing on the outdoor stuff while the weather is nice and then will switch back to sewing when the rain comes back.

 

Leave a Reply

