Cancun

After a week in Playa del Carmen relaxing on the beach and 11 days in Tulum for the retreat, I was on my way to Cancun for some decompression time before heading home. I knew that as soon as I landed back in the States it was going to be full on for the business launch so a bit of a break was badly needed.

I returned to the same resort I stayed in my first night in Mexico and to review, it is gorgeously situated on the peninsula between the ocean and the lagoon:

IMG_9082

the morning light was especially beautiful in the sunrise:

IMG_9738

but, per usual, I didn’t want to spend a lot of time in the resort itself. The first trip was an all day excursion to Isla Mujeres, a small island north of Cancun. Overall it was a really awesome day, we took the boat out from the lagoon to the ocean and had the chance to relax on a private beach before lunch.

IMG_9775

There’s something so relaxing about sitting under the palm trees on a weekday…

IMG_9764

After a little while those interested in snorkeling got back on the boat and swam about a mile up shore along the reef. The current was flowing in our favor so it wasn’t too exhausting.

We returned to the beach house for lunch and then a couple more hours to enjoy the kayaks, play in the ocean and relax. The pier was especially beautiful and you can see the hotels of Cancun in the distance:

IMG_9802

Of course I had to get a panoramic shot:

IMG_9779

Not too bad for a day at the beach!

Later in the afternoon we took the boat to the north end of the island for a few hours and were able to roam, shop and explore the downtown area. It’s rather small but I was able to find a few things. I also sat down for drinks with a family from Scotland that I’d talked with during the snorkeling tour.

After such a long day I was happy to get back to the resort and go to sleep early. I can’t recommend much in the way of restaurants because, on average, I’d eat one meal a day since it was so busy.

Waking up at the resort was always a treat, just walking down the open air hall to the ocean in the morning was a treat.

IMG_9821

The day before I left I had a little more adventure planned with another parasailing adventure and then out to a different reef to snorkel.

IMG_9831

Unfortunately, I didn’t really enjoy that parasailing adventure as much due to the very unbalanced “harness” which was really just a bench you sat on flying above the ocean so when I got back to dry land I needed some time in the clear blue water to recover.

IMG_9842

On the last night in Cancun, I decided to try out the Captain’s Cove restaurant across from the hotel on the lagoon side and I am so glad I did. Because the sunset was incredible.

IMG_9861

I kept leaving my food at the table to go out to the patio to shoot because the sky was so beautiful.

IMG_9867

And the reflection on the water was amazing.

IMG_9892

Okay, one more.

IMG_9871

I left the next morning before the sunrise and I can’t wait to go back in a few months!

Leave a Reply

