Guest Room Gets Fancy

After the master bedroom, the guest room was the one with the worst carpet and I was so ready to get rid of it.  Shortly after finishing the office, I started moving furniture and got out the trusty crowbar and box cutter.

Here’s what the carpet looked with mystery stains and all:

DSC_0086

and in the closet,

2014-02-28 (13)

While the closet carpet didn’t have horrible stains, it also didn’t match the rest of the room. Of course I just finished the baseboards in there but thankfully had an easy time prying them out again.

Here’s the carpet coming out, removing all doubt that it was nasty stuff:

DSC_0087

DSC_0088

Just like the other rooms, I started with filling the cracks in the subfloor.

DSC_0089

By this room I’d pretty much mastered removing the nails from tack strips without destroying the concrete. The carpet pad in this room was much thicker but that meant they used heavy duty glue (which you can see in that dark mark in the pic above) which I had to scrape up with the crowbar as I painted.

And, as always, there was a ton of debris so I was constantly cleaning:

DSC_0095

After the concrete filler dried I painted the subfloor white to block out all the stains.

DSC_0096

And then, once it dried, it was time to roll out the underlayment. For those who don’t know, underlayment acts as a barrier – not so much for moisture but sound – and prevents the hard back of the floor from hitting the subfloor when you walk. It’s relatively thin but does the job.

Here I pulled out a few boards that were acclimating to the room and used them to anchor the underlayment. It doesn’t get glued or adhered to the floor in any way.

DSC_0114

When you’re installing make sure the edge with the sticky tape is away from the wall – you’ll need that to adhere to the second piece that unrolls. Occasionally you’ll need to make cuts which is easy with the box cutter. Such as these small walls that frame the closet:

DSC_0117To get the correct length I pulled the underlayment out from that little wall, unrolled it to the far wall and held it there with the crowbar. Using a box cutter I sliced the underlayment – remember it’s thin – and then pushed it back towards the wall.

DSC_0120

Since you don’t lay out the whole room it’s pretty easy to work around these obstacles. I simply sliced around the wall with the box cutter to remove the section.

DSC_0125Just like the other rooms I started with a long row along the back wall and then built my way out. However, I do have a trick to show.

The first 3 rows are a real bitch because every time you tap in a board it wants to move and you want to keep a gap for expansion.

So I cut some scrap wood and nailed it to the wall just at the joints between the boards like so:

DSC_0136

Other than the cuts around the transition to the closet in the first row, it went smoothly!

DSC_0135

This was probably the first of 5 cuts I made, since it was so tight. For these straight cuts I mostly used my jigsaw but when I needed to make end cuts I relied on my miter saw.

Once the first couple of rows are in the work goes quickly. Roll out underlayment. Lay boards. Tap them into place.

DSC_0156

Fan set up to keep me from melting:

DSC_0159

And done:

DSC_0165

One thing I did learn by this, my third room, is that you don’t need to lay out the whole row and tap it in together. I know! It saved soooo much time. Instead you just line up the board on the far left, tap it into the board above it. Then position the next board, tap it to lay flat and when it’s almost flat you hit it hard with the mallet at the joint.

So easy. So satisfying to whack things.

Once the floor boards were mostly in I could do the transition to the hallway and this was one room where I didn’t need to stop at the door jam. Since I did transition strips at the master bedroom and office these boards could go through to the office threshold.

DSC_0160

While the boards don’t line up perfectly like I wish, you can’t really tell unless you’re inspecting them for imperfections.

I also took the time to touch up the wall paint with a small can of Frosted Jade from last year.

Once the floors were done I went back to re-install all those baseboards.

DSC_0161

The only sections I left off were around the door where the new door frame will come in (soon!).

Alright, in the saga of the master bedroom I showed you how to install the boards (the long, hard way), in the office post I laid out all the tools and now I’ve shown you the underlayment and a quick way to install.

Next we head down the hallway, do the closet and then conquer the largest space yet and a series of increasingly complicated angled cuts.

After that it’s just the transition strips and the whole house is done.

3 thoughts on “Guest Room Gets Fancy

  1. Pingback: My Friend Kelly

Leave a Reply

