“Getting Organized” is boring

Let’s face it, the process of getting organized is kinda boring. Paper cuts and shredding and making decisions is just blahhhh.

Which is why reading about organizing is so much more fun. You don’t have to get your hands dirty. Or make any effort whatsoever.

So I have a love/hate relationship with organizing posts because yes, they’re inspiring but also the crazy side of my brain takes over and I think that I need to read a whole book, the entire series, the finished space before I can begin myself. My brain thinks I need to figure out where they got everything, create a new board on Pinterest, and it just spirals.

Maybe you can relate.

So instead of sharing my own step by step organizing process (which I don’t actually have) I’m just going to work on my own space.

Along the way I might share some posts but only to hold myself accountable.

This year I’ve set the goal to declutter, donate or consign 1,000 items. After letting go of 1270 items last year, I’m lowering my goal a little in consideration of what I’ve already done.

I could probably accomplish that goal in 2 days if I counted individual papers or emails but instead I count a full paper bag of shredded papers as one item.

Here’s what I’m working on this month:

  • picture frames
  • filing in the office
  • gardening pots and containers
  • flower vases
  • owners and operation manuals
Leave a Reply

