Photo Wall Post #30

It seems like this is the never ending project but I’m enjoying it!

I finally took down all of the photos in my bedroom in preparation for working on the ceiling and painting. To refresh memories here’s what the wall looked like last week:

Photobucket

And this is the frame that I decided to paint black and replace the canvas in:

PhotobucketIn this close up view you can see it’s mostly cream with a yellow inset right before the burlap layer. I’ll be covering the burlap layer with painters tape and am considering keeping it in tact for now.

PhotobucketAfter two days of sanding the frame this is how it looks:

Photobucketit’s very smooth to the touch and ready to paint. I used compressed air to get rid all of the dust and prepped it to be spray painted black. It’s lying here on a spare sheet so I could contain some of the dust but I’ll be spray painting outside.

and I’ve chosen the picture which would probably work well with the yellow but I think will look even nicer with the black frame: PhotobucketOf course none of the pictures will be going back up for awhile because the room looks like this: PhotobucketThe furniture has migrated to other rooms, the black tarp scares my dogs when they walk across it, that scaffold is scary and the ceiling is about to get a makeover.

Here’s my to do list, for the folks cheering me on at home:

  1. scrape off popcorn texture across 12′ vaulted ceiling while attempting not to fall from the scaffold
  2. Sand, patch and somehow prep the ceiling (details to be determined by experts at Home Depot)
  3. Paint the ceiling
  4. Wash the walls and remove outlet and switch plate covers
  5. Remove the baseboards, take down lights and remove shelf
  6. Prime the walls for painting
  7. Paint the walls final color (it’s a surprise)
  8. Paint the primed baseboards white, cut and install
  9. Frame out the sliding glass door so it looks pretty
  10. Rehang shelf, install lights and outlet/switch plate covers
  11. Deep clean the carpet
  12. Move the furniture back in
  13. Rehang pictures and curtains
  14. Drink large margarita

Considering that my color choices have thus far been bold : red (kitchen), green (office) and blue (guest room), you can reasonably expect there will be no beige in this room. I love crisp white paint to offset the darker colors and I’ll also be looking for a new light to hang.

While the ceiling fan is handy for summer, it wobbles terribly if not on the lowest setting making me believe I’ll be decapitated like a villain from an Indian Jones movie and if I use the CFL light bulb then the globe does not fit on the light leaving me with very harsh lighting. All in all, it’s a terrible overhead light.

Because my furniture is strewn all over the house (thank god I got the bigger bed for the guest room so I can sleep comfortably during this process) I have been thinking of ways to update the miscellaneous pieces that make up this room.

The headboard was $9 so even my dad, lover of natural wood furniture, can’t complain if I paint it. Also, the bookshelf I got at Ikea’s ‘as-is/clearance’ section was cheap enough that I can easily update it with new paint or a fun design without stress. I’m even considering doing an update on my Hemnes dresser like this awesome Ikea hacker did.

So if you’re wondering what I’m up to at night after working with clients and building my business I’ll probably be found up on the scaffold, covered in dust or paint or otherwise working on one of a dozen projects so that I can finish the master bedroom.

After all, I need to have it done so I can start on the master bathroom this summer.

5 thoughts on “Photo Wall Post #30

Leave a Reply

