Favorite Finds

Let’s just be honest. I’m OCD and just a bit quirky.

One of the ways that manifests is in organizing my files and photos. I love going back through my folders and seeing what things I’ve done, places I’ve been and people I’ve seen and January is an especially good time for this.

In 2011 for example I traveled to Colorado, D.C., New Jersey and New York, Tahoe, Miami and the Florida Keys, Connecticut and Boston. For me that’s a lot of travel and I took a lot of pictures!

While I’m collecting all of my favorite photos on my full wall gallery I’m also finding one photo to post every day on my new photography blog! Check it out here:

One-Thousand Photos

And, for fun, I thought I’d look back at the favorite things I’ve bought in 2011 and where I’m using the items.

PhotobucketThis cute mug came from the charity consignment shop in town for $2 and it was great for hot apple cider at night. I probably should have put it away in the Christmas boxes but I’m low on mugs. PhotobucketThis cup was $2.50 and I used it primarily for the Christmas mantle with a tea light candle.

PhotobucketAlso used for Christmas decor was this silver plated platter:

PhotobucketThis was $3 and didn’t need to be polished at all before I used it to reflect the candle light:

Photobucket

I found a lot of fun things for my garden this year, I spray painted this watering can with a bright yellow:

Photobucketthis little lantern was already bright yellow and I picked it up for $1:

PhotobucketThis long tray was $1 and a bright pink:

PhotobucketAll together I set it up on the $5 open wood shelf outside:

PhotobucketHere it is all set up:

 PhotobucketI love this great glass dome for $3:

PhotobucketI used it for Christmas ornaments and decorations:

Photobucket
I stocked up on glass Christmas ornaments – each box was $1-2 – and this represents about 1/4th of the collection I bought:

 PhotobucketIn addition to decorating the tree I made this ornament wreath:

PhotobucketI also picked up some new milk glass vases for $1 ea:

Photobucketand this great hand puppet:

PhotobucketDoesn’t it make you want to watch Jurassic Park? I also bought this green purse because I have a smallish purse obsession:

PhotobucketAnd this great glass vase/decorating thingy (anyone know the proper name?) for about $3:

PhotobucketWell there you go, lots of fabulous, fun, thrifty finds of 2011!

One thought on “Favorite Finds

Leave a Reply

