Clever Title

Spring is definitely here and despite the overcast weather today, it’s been getting warmer and warmer. I don’t look forward to summer and 100 degree weeks but at least this year I’ll be home and able to control the thermostat.

Recently I went out to the Library with my camera – their Gardens are maintained by a Rose Club.

the flower here is my second favorite part of the picture. That bokah? love it. and, like most of my favorite photos, completely unintentional.

I’ve been encouraged to join the Rose Club since I have 18 bushes in my yard but eh, I’m not really an enthusiast. In fact when pruning them back I’m often reduced to shouting ‘you prick!’ when the thorns piece my gloves. The garden here is nice though and it’s not all roses:

What else is going on?

I’m working on finishing up projects around my house, in a few weeks my parents are coming up and we’ll be hanging mirrors, finishing baseboards and installing a new dishwasher. I lived in my grandparent’s house without a dishwasher for 2 years (in during college for 4 before that) so the last 3 years without one hasn’t really been a big deal. Of course I can think of six dozen things I’d rather do than dishes at this moment so having one would be nice. Mostly it’s a planned upgrade for the house so when we’re ready to rent it out or sell there will be less to do.

This is probably my favorite corner of the house. A stack of old books, a light bright and a labyrinth. The tin is bright and fun too:

I’m considering laying more sod in the backyard since I suck at growing grass from seed. Really I just need to fix the timer on my backyard sprinklers so the health of my lawn does not depend on me remembering to water. I also picked up 10 – 8 pound bags of top soil today. I’ve used this brand before and it’s good stuff, need to fill in the low spots in the flower beds (the dogs tend to dig) and level out a few places in the yard before putting in some sod. I’m also looking at composting options to add nutrients.

Tomorrow I go house hunting – really excited about the place I’ll be visiting. It’s exciting to plan and have a place in mind that would allow me to get some chickens, maybe an outdoor cat and goats! It’s a little depressing that I’m not even done fixing up my current house but I know it’s a good time to buy and my current place would be easier to rent out. We’ll see, nothing set in stone and signed by a notary yet.

Leave a Reply

