Giving Up

I started this puzzle last month, sometime in March. And it was a good way to relax at the end of a long day except it wasn’t really fun. 1,000 pieces of blue sky and green trees was more like work after work. True, it was time away from a screen (computer, iPad, tv…) but it wasn’t enjoyable.

So I let it stay like this on my table for weeks. Probably out of guilt. I like puzzles, this was a a dollar so I don’t really care about getting a ton of use out of it but something kept telling me to finish.

Finally I boxed it up and put it in the pile of stuff to donate to the Goodwill.

I may have sang ‘know when to hold ’em, know when to fold ’em’ as I did so. It’s always a bit harder for me to quit than it is to sign up for something. Emails. Friendships. Jobs.

Over time I’ve gotten much better at recognizing when a job isn’t working (#1 hint: when your supervisor verbally attacks you), when a friendship is over and when an email no longer conveys any value to me. But for projects like these, it’s so much harder. Should I finish watching the movie that, quite frankly, sucks? Read the book I bought because the concept sounded cool but the writing is boring me to tears?

While I’m not a quitter by nature, I am getting better at recognizing when something isn’t all that important and I can send it off to Goodwill without guilt. Now that I’ve reclaimed my table I’ve been doing things which I truly find enjoyable. Like playing with my camera:

besides, fresh flowers smell awesome.

Leave a Reply

