Fourth Food

I’m not a big holiday girl but I do try to take advantage of the sales that surround holidays. When it comes to the Fourth of July that means fresh produce! Like corn 7 for $1.00,

fresh strawberries and raspberries,

and of course, watermelon,

But I’m rather stuck with a full fridge at the moment, a downside to cooking in bulk when good deals come along and not eating much in the hot summer months.  I’ve organized as best I could and then began to share the perishables.

Like taking cupcakes to my Grandpa for him to share with the caregivers,

and inviting Tressa & the pickle over for lunch!

I went blog splunking on Friday and came up with a ton of links to people who are WAY more talented than I am. They’re not hard to find, trust me.  In doing so I found 2 new recipes to try – a drink and a dessert – and another variation of my favorite cobbler recipe.

First the cobbler!

I took 4 cups of the berries I picked on Wednesday and added a half cup of sugar. Stir it up and put it aside. For the record this is a pretty even mix of blackberries, Marion berries and Ollalie berries. Some sweet, some tart, all very ripe.

Then I mixed 1 cup sugar, 1 cup flour, 1/3 tsp salt, 2 tsp baking soda and 3/4 cup milk in a bowl and mixed that together.  Preheat the oven to 325 and melt a stick of butter in a glass pan.  I used a small 8×8 pan but you can use another size as long as everything fits.

Layer the dish with the butter, then the batter, then the berries. I’m stubborn so I added the last bit of the batter on top. The result was a smell so amazing I wish this blog were scratch and sniff enabled. Alas, no.

But I think there’s a rule that holidays cannot just have one dessert. So I made a frozen layered dessert.

Layered from the bottom up with ice cream sandwiches, bananas, strawberries, chocolate sauce, a mix of crushed pineapple and whipped cream and topped with crushed Butterfingers candy bits.

And since lady does not live on dessert alone so I made fajitas: chicken, white rice, peppers, onions, zucchini and cheese. Along with lunch, slushies! These are almost better than Sonic. I say almost because Sonic has an ice machine and I don’t.

You start by making raspberry paste. My raspberries were half price which is co-op speak for ‘eat quickly’! There were a few berries that had gone bad so I but off the bad parts and pureed a cup of fruit with 2 Tablespoons of water and 2 Tablespoons of powdered sugar. This can be done ahead of time and put aside in the fridge. You’ll only need about a tablespoon of raspberry for each drink so plan accordingly.

When it comes to making the citrus slush start by juicing lemons. About 6 lemons for 6 large drinks is right – or 1 cup of juice. Add 2/3 cup of orange juice, any variety. I used a frozen concentrate since it’s easier to store than fresh. Add 3/4 cup of sugar, 3/4 cup water. Pour the entire mixture over 4-5 cups of ice in the blender.  Blend on high until it’s nice a slushy.

Spoon a tablespoon of the raspberry paste into each glass and top off with the citrus slush.  The recipe recommends mint and raspberry garnish. I used a cherry and a pink umbrella.

Here’s one I made when the slushie mixture was pretty melted

Happy July!

Recipe Links

Raspberry Citrus Slushie

Frozen Banana Split Square

Chicken Fajitas

Mixed Berry Cobbler

2 thoughts on “Fourth Food

  1. Mmm, that Raspberry Citrus Slushie
    looks delicious. We have raspberries growing in the backyard that have just started to become ripe. So far we have eaten them right off the bush, but now I am inspired to try something new. And refreshing!

Leave a Reply

