My Frugal Valentine

Although I normally ignore fake holidays I thought I’d throw out some suggestions for those folks who are, for lack of a better word, twitterpated. And please note these suggestions are not gender exclusive. Women who complain their boyfriend or husband never give enough but do nothing in return themselves make me throw up a little in my mouth. On that pleasant note:

Say it with flowers
But ones that are not overpriced and then dead within a week. Pick out a bright pot, some soil and bulbs or seeds for a fraction of the cost of the typical red rose bouquet. Why it works: subtly conveys you’ll be around as they bloom and bloom and bloom.

Skip Hallmark
In 50 years no one is going to read your generic “I wuv you beary much” card, Facebook wall post, e-card or text messages with any amount of sentimentality.  Grab a piece of printer paper and write a good old fashioned note with ink pen in hand. There’s no need to cut out hearts from red construction paper, just say and mean what you put to paper.

Candy that doesn’t taste like chalk
If you managed to score some Christmas M&Ms after the holidays pour the red ones in a small jar. For the ultra frugal save the jar and green M&Ms for St. Patrick’s Day. Personalized M&Ms are a little to pricey for my tastes but an easy alternative is spelling out your message on a bigger platform. Like cake. Or just fill a jar with a favorite candy.

Cook it yourself
What says I care more than making a phone call and using a credit card? Well, almost anything. How about recreating a memorable meal in your own damn kitchen? Recreate a meal you bothed loved or have always wanted to try. Take the time to call his or her mom, sister, or best friends and find out those favorite meals. Don’t forget about dessert.

It don’t mean a thing if it ain’t got the bling
In a world where retailers are already pushing summer clothes and the back-to-school items are probably a week away from hitting the shelves I shouldn’t be surprised that jewelry retailers are amping up their commercials. But personally buying expensive jewelry should require a bit more planning. Instead of new and flashy how about retro? Ask to pass down an older family piece. Or take something from the jewelry box that’s gone unworn and have it cleaned, reset or refurbished.

You’re taking me where?!?
Find the most romantic spot in your own city and have a picnic. For my friend getting married in a library that spot is probably the bookstore. For the couple saving to buy a home it might be a park in a new neighborhood. Find your favorite stream, trail, city center or movie theater and enjoy the scenery.

Service
To complicate matters this year Valentines falls on a Sunday and is followed by a holiday. Three days? Oy vey. That doesn’t mean a romantic getaway weekend is necessary. How about serving from the heart at home? Build that shelving unit the family cook has been asking about for years, frame the family pictures from years past and finally get around to those endless maintenance projects. Take it from me, nothing says “I love you” like cleaning my gutters.

4 thoughts on “My Frugal Valentine

  1. Hey, look at me, I’m in this one! Also, I 100% concur with what you said about the gutters. Shoot, I think I’d marry a man who unloaded my dishwasher. Don’t tell my fiancee 😉

  2. Hmmmm. I’m not quite sure it’s possible to save M&Ms in our house for more than a couple of days… 🙂 Otherwise, great tips!

Leave a Reply

