Chicken Tortilla Soup

Honestly, I will very rarely post recipes here, especially recipes I’ve “created.”  I’m not a fanciful cook and I don’t spend a lot of time in the kitchen (if I can help it). But this is one of my favorite soups, pretty healthy and frugal too.

Chicken Tortilla Soup al la Kelly

1 can – yellow or white corn, drained

2 cups – carrots, sliced or diced or cubed

2 small green peppers, diced

1 small white or yellow onion, diced

4-5 cups chicken stock

shredded chicken (as much or as little as you like, I add about 2 cups)

10 corn tortillas, cut into slices

Helpful hint: Last week I got a whole organic chicken for around $4.  I threw it in the crock pot with 3 cups of water and some spices. Four hours later the meat was falling off the bone. Literally. I cut the breastbone with a plastic spoon! I let it cool and picked out the bones and skin, threw the meat in the fridge and put the juice in a jar.  When I started the soup I first skimmed off all that fat and put the stock in the crock pot to heat up. There wasn’t quite enough so I added an 8 oz. can of stock.

First I throw the chicken stock into the crockpot, turn it to low.

Second, drain the corn, cut up the peppers, carrots and onions (that is if you manage to remember the onion, I did not)

Third, Slice the corn tortillas into long strips

Fourth, chop up the chicken

Fifth, cover and cook on low for at least 3 hours, more if you’re at work or sleeping or lazy.

When it’s done (yummmmmm) you can serve with cheese or sour cream, whatever you like.  If you have a million little chips at the bottom of the bag, throw those on the bottom of the bowl for a crunch.

The soup can be bottled and refridgerated or frozen but I usually eat it all too quickly.

One thought on “Chicken Tortilla Soup

Leave a Reply

