I heart books

A correlation of loving books is loving bookshelves.  I want one of those libraries that requires a sliding ladder and a Dewey decimal system.  But since I live in a small house I will make do with Ikea style bookcases.

After saving up about $500, measuring and re-measuring, pricing, consulting and planning I went out yesterday to buy!  Dad brought up his truck and helped me haul. Each of the large bookcases weighs 82 lbs! The smallest size was about the only one I could handle on my own.

Once the shelves are home I needed a large surface to assemble.

well... without the dog
well... without the dog

After hauling in the box it’s time to unpack and make sure they didn’t forget any shelves, screws or side panels.

not so helpful, Jackson, not so helpful
not so helpful, Jackson, not so helpful

The actual assembly work is pretty easy. Hammer in dowel rods. Screw in screws. Tighten bolts. Install back panels. And when that’s done, move them to the office and admire my work:

oooooh ahhhhhhh
oooooh ahhhhhhh

Then comes the FUN part: filling the shelves with books and movies and other random things I love. Luckily I have plenty of room so no more double stacked books in this house!

narnia and harry and tolkien? be still my heart!
narnia and harry and tolkien? be still my heart!
not even close to filled up
not even close to filled up
the other side
the other side
books + movies
books + movies

Edited to add:

I decided to put the movies here on my bookshelves because I hate pulling out the storage boxes I used to keep them in so I could decide what I wanted to watch.  In doing so, I found a movie I own that I’ve rented at least 3 times to watch. Doh. Fortunately I don’t have to pay for rentals!

As for the boxes on the bottom shelf, those are full of a variety of things.  Some hold iPod accessories, CDs, phone accessories, greeting cards and computer equipment. Most of them are empty (used to hold movies) so I’m going to sort out the computer equipment in my closet and divide it up into smaller boxes.

3 thoughts on “I heart books

  1. LOVE the bookshelves! And your taste in “kids” books hehe. I wanted to do something like this, but unfortunately with a cape style house, no can do. I should take some pictures of my built-ins though!

Leave a Reply

