Busy Day

Aside from solving the “no income” problem, today was quite a busy day.  I’ve got to recap this quickly and get to bed because I have work in the morning!

(You’ve no idea how happy I am to say that again!)

First up I finished working in the main bathroom – I need to touch up the door and trim paint but that will be on-going. I think it looks great:

finally finished
finally finished

I tried to catch up on cooking at home, finally slicing the slightly mushy apples and peaches for cobbler.  This is what I got:

peach cobbler
peach cobbler

I’ve also been fighting a sore throat and cannot be sick right now so I mixed up some Strawberry Smuckers Lemonade that I keep in my handy glass jars.

cheap drinks
cheap drinks

Usually I stick with my nice Fostoria glasses but when I’m sick it’s heavy doses only

I drank 6 or 7 of these
I drank 6 or 7 of these

I made a special trip to CVS today to pick up the vodka they had on sale for a recipe. Since I hate to waste a trip for ONE item I found some other sale items and saved 1/3 off my bill.  The notebook was free, the juices $1 each, canned fruit under $1/can, Mac  & Cheese $0.50/box and the lunch bowls were $1.50/ea.

CVS Trip 8-24
CVS Trip 8-24

I have been looking forward to making raspberry liquor for a few weeks now and my raspberries are finally ripe enough! (I paid $9.99 at Costco for 6 packs plus used up some frozen ones)  I didn’t get a picture of the berries because my hands were red from cutting and mashing them. Nor did I stop stirring the water and sugar concoction to take a shot.  I did get a picture of the glass jars I’ve been planning to use!

free jars
free jars

Then I re-read the recipe which suggests using one BIG glass jar. Which I did not have.  So I substituted with a plastic one:

Yum
Yum

The final product should be ready in about 3 months and I have to carefully stir the liquor to make sure the fruit is breaking down or something.  But for under $20 this is going to be some yummy liquor!

Leave a Reply

