12 days later

Sounds like a horror movies, doesn’t it?  In many ways unemployment is my own personal horror movie.  No set schedule, fewer people to interact with, no planned challenges, fear of living in a box, no income and the social stigma of being amongst the unemployed.

Because despite all the ra-rah you’re awesome talk I get, there is still the reality of 11-15% unemployment in this area and thousands, hundreds of thousands of qualified people without work.

And while it feels like the longest horror sequence ever to grace the small screen (except The Stand that was months longer), it’s now over.

Yep, I have a new job.  Starts tomorrow so here’s my preliminary review.

Pros:

  • don’t have to live in a box
  • in town, can walk or bike
  • guaranteed hours and stable pay
  • office is across the street from the library
  • new challenges and things to conquer
  • planned training schedule
  • salary is good

Cons:

  • salary is good, not great

And really, that’s all the cons!  The salary will still enable me to save and plan and the company is wide enough to endure hardships and entertain a transfer if and when that time comes.  Plus I’m already saving money on my car insurance, fuel costs and I won’t be stuck in a car 2 hours a day surrounded by road ragers.

It is rather hard for me to admit, especially in print, that this new job did not come from some magistrate of luck, crossing of fingers or sending of ju-ju.  It was plain, old fashioned hard work and determination! (Which is not to say being unemployed for a long period is a result of a lack of hard work and determination)

There is a verse that came to mind and, even if you’re not religious, I think most people can relate.

2 Corinthians 4:7-9

7But we have this treasure in jars of clay to show that this all-surpassing power is from God and not from us. 8We are hard pressed on every side, but not crushed; perplexed, but not in despair; 9persecuted, but not abandoned; struck down, but not destroyed.

When it comes to being laid off or fired it hurts.  Someone, or a whole company of someones, has said you are not good enough, you are expendable, you are not living up to expectations. And that stings. Because many of us are working quite hard to do our jobs and rejection always hurts on some level.  We know that feeling of being hard pressed, perplexed, persecuted and struck down.  It’s oppressive and difficult and yet, not the same as being crushed, dispaired, abandoned and destroyed.

There is hope.

There is a silver lining.

Not just because I have a new job, but because we all have options. Blessings. A way out. If I look back over these last two weeks I can find the good. The time with my grandpa just because, spending the afternoon reading at the park stalking hot dads, walking with my dogs, calling friends in the middle of the day, reading, finishing freelance work and projects I’ve been procrastinating on, and getting away from a toxic work environment that made me entirely too angry.

Tomorrow is a new day with new challenges.

I can’t wait.

Leave a Reply

