Happy Working Song

If you have not seen the movie Enchanted staring Amy Adams you need to crawl out from under that rock and rent it! It’s adorable and the music is just sublime. Case and point: Happy Working Song. Freakin’ adorable.

Anywho…

A few weeks back someone who can only be described as very influential asked me what my house really looks like when I say it’s an “utter disaster with a dose of chaos.”  Apparently I need to work on my descriptive speech because I was convinced to take photographic evidence of said disaster areas.  Oy.

I am only now posting these pictures because I have the “after” shots to convince y’all I don’t live in complete squalor.  Now, my excuses before we take a looksee at those photos:

  • I work a lot.
  • I hate doing dishes.
  • My dogs refuse to clean.
  • I work a lot.
  • I’m in pain a lot.

I can tell from your face you’re not buying the excuses. Sigh. Okay, hold on to your booties because here we go:

kitchen before
kitchen before
living room before
living room before
typical office messiness
typical office messiness
bedroom before
bedroom before
guest room before (during office work)
guest room before (during office work)
dining area before
dining area before

Okay, now that I am thoroughly embarrassed I will put up the “after” pictures.  I think that my underlying problem is having 17 projects going at once. If you look at my dining room table you’ll see a puzzle that I didn’t finish, a digital picture frame, a hammer for photos in my office, an empty ice tray after icing the dog’s water dish, my purse, a jacket that needs to be washed, a book I need to review and a stack of books I needed to send.  No wonder the house looks like a disaster.

Here are the pictures I took today:

made up bed
made up bed

ignore the weird stains in the carpet, por favor, most of the bedrooms had permanent stains which only motivates me to save my money for hardwood floors.

office after
office after

this is my reference bookshelf and a comfy chair. The box on the floor has notecards and postcards that I pick up every now and then.

books! no longer on beds!
books! no longer on beds!
clean desk
clean desk

A few notes. Yes, that’s my blog post on the screen. And I’m reading Life of Pi by Yann Martel. I drink water by the computer (bad, I know). And that little weird box on a cord is my digital card reader so I can take this picture and upload it to my computer 3 seconds later.

living room after
living room after

The green in the hallway is my painter’s tape since I’ll be painting baseboards this week. And the chair is an extra from the bar area since we were sitting around watching Planet Earth DVDs.

dining area after
dining area after
clean kitchen
clean kitchen

and just to prove that I have a lot of work ahead of me, here’s the guest bedroom now:

somewhat cleaner room
somewhat cleaner room
Doh!
Doh!

Yep, I have a lot of work to do in the guest room. Some of these boxes are empty, other things are gifts, most of it is crap.  I also have a PILE of dog blankets that need to be washed and a whole lot of office supplies to either give away or find room for in my desk.

I’ll keep you posted.

Leave a Reply

