Frugal Flowers

This past week a friend of the family died and since my Mom was out of the state on vacation I volunteered to attend one of the services and take flowers.  Now it would be easy enough to order a bouqet from the florist or even a plant from the nursey. But it would also be expensive.  So I created my own.  Here’s what I did:

Picked out a sturdy square vase and flower foam:

basic supplies
basic supplies

A variety of cutting instruments:

beware of sharp edges
beware of sharp edges

The knife was used to cut the foam, the shears to cut the stems and the scissors to cut off leaves.

And of course the flowers:

uncut flowers
uncut flowers

The flowers came from Costco where the prices are surprisingly reasonable.  I paid $15 for one bouquet and $9 for the other.  Since our friend who passed was a woman and the base I had was pink I decided to go with pink and purple pastels.  First up was to take out all that greenery and cut the stems.  It’s advisable to cut the stems at an angle and submerge them immediately into water. I don’t know who figured this out as I asked the plants and they refused to respond. There are NO pictures of me trimming stems because me + camera + shears = ER visit. This is also a good time to pull out any flowers that are snapped in half or stems without blooms. Once the stems were cut I threw them into a trash can filled with water:

nice pot
nice pot

Now that was so pretty I almost considered leaving it as is.  Maybe the next time a friend of mine moves into a new house a new trash can + flowers will be a fun gift…

Instead  I started to take out the blooms and put them into the water drenched foam.  Most websites will tell you to put the open blooms in the middle, closed blooms along the outside.  Yeah, I ignore that advice. After all, when the older ones start to shrivel it’s much less noticable if you trim them back from the sides, otherwise they’ll be a big hole in the middle of the arrangement.  So I started with the pink ones:

work on the center first
work on the center first

I also vary the heights so that they will bloom and fill out the bouqet.  After the pink flowers I added the carnations and purple ones (I’m terrible at names in case you can’t tell…)

filling it out
filling it out
adding more blooms
adding more blooms

Now that all the flowers are in I did a little rearranging, mostly turning flowers and making sure they were mostly visable.  I decided it looked a little sparse so I added in some greenery, the baby’s breath and eucalyptus leaves.  Here’s the finished product:

all done

And there you go! A $25 bouquet that looked great next to the other arrangements, was fun and easy to put together and conveys just some of the sympathy for the family who lost a loved one.  Showing people that you care doesn’t have to be expensive or complicated.

2 thoughts on “Frugal Flowers

Leave a Reply

