A week of deals in March

*I found this post written in March when my internet was down, I love the pictures so I’m posting it now*
I’ve actually done quite a bit of shopping this week but have stayed within reason and purchased all of it with my debit card. I’ll start with what I consider to be my best deal this week, a sturdy side table on coasters found at the Salvation Army. Sticker price is $16.50 but with the current sale on furniture I got it for $8.25
simple table
simple table

I have so many places I could use this table I’m having a hard time deciding where to put it. For now it’s going in the living room. Barely an hour before buying the table I found a cute basket on clearance at Walgreens for $2.99. It fits perfectly and should hold the current issues of the three new magazines I signed up for this year.

Walgreens also had flower seed packets on sale so I picked up seven varieties, 33 total for $6.60. That’s about the price of two full grown plants in my area.

flowers
flowers
new buckets
new buckets

In addition I found these great pails for $1/ea (small) and $2 (large). I can’t wait to fill these with cuts from the flower bed. My totals at Walgreens were pretty high as I picked up (2) $15 gift cards to iTunes. I’ll use them as that’s the only way I download music and television shows although one might be a gift. With each gift card I got a certificate for 50 free in-store prints. Total value of the photo printing is $19.00 making the $30 gift cards more than half off!

The main bathroom got a makeover this week as I continue to work on painting the cabinets, replacing hardware and touching up the wall paint. A few weeks back my dad installed the great silver shower curtain rod for me. It’s screwed right into the wall for a reason. I have a lingering nightmare of an experience involving a shower curtain, a potted plant and slippery floors from a mission trip when I was barely a teen. Do not want to repeat brush with death via pottery again.

guest bathroom
guest bathroom

Dad also tried (valiantly, I might add) to install the new towel hanger but alas, put a hole in the wall instead. It’s entirely fixable but my house does not yet have the plethora of hole fixin’ tools it should so that has been left for another day. This bathroom holds another mystery that is worthy of a Nancy Drew/Hardy Boys/Sherlock Holmes/ Boxcar Children cross over. And how much fun would that be to read!

It’s the Mystery of the Frog on the Wall.

This is a ceramic piece of some sort fastened to the wall in a most unusual fashion. That is, we have no idea how it’s stuck up there. So instead of pulling it and perhaps a weight bearing wall down, I painted it. Cute, no? I’ve accepted I need a little mystery in my life.

de frog
de frog

Instead of going with the boring $6.89 silver shower curtain rings that I was contemplating I sprung for the $7.50 adorable frog and lily pad ones. I’d love to pick these up at a garage sale for less but the chance of finding ones I like, in a complete pack, unbroken is next to nil. The shower curtain is an old relic but looks good with my spring/summer frogs (to match the mystery frog on the wall) or the snowflake winter bathroom set. Either set will match my new rug which has a non-slip backing and great pattern.

frogs n lily pads
frogs n lily pads

Finally, a shot of my sink with soap from Walgreens at 30 cents a bottle and my little luxuries basket.

bathroom
bathroom

The wash cloths are new, 50 cents each at Wal-Mart (where I also bought the rug and shower curtain rings) and really brighten up an otherwise beige and white bathroom. You will notice a distinct lack of frog and lily pad soap dispensers, toothbrush holders, drink cups, stickers, children’s books and pillows. This frog thing is not a fetish nor a collecting thing. Do not turn me into Sookie!

One last deal this week and then I’m off to finish pricing all my jazz and putting it away. I picked up two packages of dog treats on sale that I also had a coupon to match. Interestingly enough, regular price was $3.99 and it was a buy one get one free. Rang up two treats at sales price $3.33 and then took off $3.99 for the coupon making each treat $1.34. Plus each package had an additional coupon for $1 off. While the cashier would not let me use them on top of my BOGO I have them for next time.

2 thoughts on “A week of deals in March

Leave a Reply

