Spendy Saturday

Today I went to Ikea to do some pricing for the list and found my weakness: the as-is clearance aisle.

In my defense I found an item I was planning on buying, it was $80 off regular price, in great condition and I can pay it off from my furniture fund.  So there. The only drawback was that it came assembled. What can I say? I love assembling furniture!

Here’s my great new dresser:

Pretty!
Pretty!

I’ve already filled the drawers with the clothes that I used to have in boxes and clipped some flowers for my new $1 vases:

roses from the garden
roses from the garden

The bedroom is really looking good which is kinda a shame because I never sleep in there…

unused room
unused room

After cleaning out my closet I had a big ole pile of scarves to go through:

jumbled mess
jumbled mess

But I found what can only be described as a $7 dohickey at Ikea which turned the mess into a somewhat organized collection of scarves:

woah.
woah.

Earlier this week I bought a frame for my new print but alas the mat was too thick to fit the frame.  But I’m holding on it because I have another picture project in mind.  I found this one at Ikea and framed the beautiful print in my office.  It’s hard to see in this light but the picture is of a group of purple grapes on the vine taken in St. Helena.

Office Art
Office Art

And since it was already a spendy day I decided to pick up two hose reels at Osh which were on sale and the cheapest I’ve seen, ever.  I was astounded that some people would spend $70 or $80 to hold a hose! Crazies.  Here’s the before:

$9 hose
$9 hose

See if I only spent $9 on my garden hose there’s no use storing it in an expensive pot or decorative box. Those are my puppies fighting over the soccer ball, by the way.  The reason I decided to get this reel thingy is because the big, brown puppy “goes” on the hose.  Nice. Real nice.  Thus the after shot:

all wrapped up
all wrapped up

I did take more shots of the backyard but really only to motive me to get some grass and plants in.  It’s uniquely terrible looking right now but I need to power wash the siding, remove some bricks and walkway stones, test and repair the sprinkler system and rototill the backyard this summer. Oy vey.  So instead of pictures of my depressing backyard here’s some close up shots of my flowers:

pretty in pink
pretty in pink
already turning blue!
already turning blue!
One thought on “Spendy Saturday

Leave a Reply

