Thoughts on work

I’ve mentioned to some friends that one of my reasons for looking into a job change is that I don’t enjoy being annoyed and pissed off all the time.  The environment is like a black cloud that follows me, and only me, around day in and day out.

Today one of my co-workers asked me what was wrong.  I couldn’t not answer so I replied vaguely.  Thankfully she didn’t say “you’re upset or mad” but the more PC “you don’t seem happy.”  And that’s certainly true, I’m not happy in this department.

The answer, of course, is multi-faceted.  I don’t have a whole lot in common with these women; they are both married with a son and have very little sense of personal responsibility or financial sense.  Their idea of being friends is spending money with someone.  One routinely asks for money and expensive gifts because she’s “worth it.”  Additionally, no matter how upset I may be, I find the idea of sitting around at work and discussing my or your personal problems is unprofessional.

She wanted to know what she could do, said I could talk to her but I think I’m beyond that.  As I am not the manager I am uncomfortable asserting that the conversations I hear are inappropriate, especially when our manager engages in them!  I don’t feel it’s my right or responsibility to note that belching, singing commercials over and over or generally acting like a 5 year old is not a work environment I enjoy. And its not an unfair assessment, the others happily admit that they come to work and turn into children.  How do you tell someone their behavior is honestly embarassing and immature when they revel in it?

After all, the only result of such a conversation would likely be half hearted attempts to “make kelly happy” and a lot of resentment.  I don’t want or need that.  In lieu of voicing these complaints again I listen to music. Mostly upbeat or silly but also calming and sometimes sad, music gets me through the day.

And as long as I complete my tasks as required and make myself available to the two dozen people that need my help on a daily basis, I don’t see the problem. My managers know how I feel about the constant chatter and distractions and choose not to stop it. I’m not trying to reinvent the department or assert authority I possess. All I want is to work in a place where work, not adolescent behavior, is the focus.

Leave a Reply

