Stay at Home Saturday

*

Generally I like to stay at home on my Saturdays until I go to work in the evening. This week of course no work so even more time to be productive. Yes, I try to be productive on my vacations. Stop looking at me like that.

Sunday is my one day off each week and I’ll detail tomorrow how I spend that time, usually out of the house. So Saturdays are really my day to get house stuff accomplished. And there are a lot of house projects.

As I wrote on November 17th, it was a long process to close on this property. After so much trouble I wanted to open that front door and kiss the carpet. Instead I was distracted by the sound of gushing water and two inches of water on the kitchen floor. The broker (a.k.a. soon-to-be-unemployed-idiot) stood there, dazed and confused, while I rushed in and picked up a water line, jamming it into the sink. This line can be seen in this photo, dated October 13th, draining into the sink. The line provides water to the dishwasher but had been disconnected.

unflooded kitchen
unflooded kitchen


When the broker turned on the water at the property without contacting the City Water Dept (against our permission and against HUD rules) this line was filled with water and began to flood the house. When I walked in on November 17th I was beyond furious and edging on irrational.

What followed will be detailed in my new writing project due out in a few months titled “Hell is a Place Called Escrow” but I’ll let you know I stopped myself just short of slapping her silly.

Instead I cried.

My dad arrived and we started to fill buckets. We sopped it up with towels from my trunk, scooped with plastic cups procured at McDonalds. Dad quickly ran to the local rental company in town owned by a relative who opened up and rented us a wet/dry vacuum so we could continue the work.

The carpet squished. The further we walked on it, the more it squished. The water had saturated 85% of the living room carpet area. It had also hit the walls and went up. Then over. The other half of this duplex is owned by a wonderful family and inhabited by a great renter. Their concern for my feelings over the damage to their property was mystifying.

What follows is a photo diary of the damage done and the aftermath. Repairs have taken weeks and are still incomplete as we make our case to HUD (the seller) about the broker’s actions and their responsibility to deliver the property in the condition it was promised.

The water damaged wall
The water damaged wall

Tearing out the drywall
Tearing out the drywall

Water saturated insulation
Water saturated insulation

the wall without insulation or drywall
the wall without insulation or drywall

Drywall again
Drywall again

One thought on “Stay at Home Saturday

Leave a Reply

