15 Minute Speed Clean : Bathroom & Hallway

 

The guest bath didn’t start out too bad. Here’s the before:

DSC_0030(Above: clothes hanging on the shower curtain rod, lots of clutter on the counter, floor needs to be swept)

DSC_0034(Above: Bathtub is dirty from rinsing off outdoor furniture, need to put away the soaps and scrub the tub)

DSC_0031(Above: bunch of stuff on the counter top, dirty sink and mirror)

What I did:

  • quickly cleaned the glass on the big mirror, dusted the other mirrors and towel racks
  • emptied the trash and re-lined it
  • swept the floor and did spot cleaning for a few marks
  • refilled the dog’s water dish and put it on a towel
  • cleared off the counter top and cleaned it well
  • swapped out the dirty towels
  • re-arranged a few things
  • put away the medications (in the hallway), towels (in the cabinet)
  • straightened up the curtain, moved jackets to the garage
  • lightly scrubbed the tub, realized I needed more time

After:

DSC_0039(Above: cleaned off the counter and washed the sink, put away everything except the candles and soap)

DSC_0036(Above: closed the curtain, refilled the dog’s water bowl, swept, hung more wash cloths)

What I’d do with 10 more minutes:

  • scrub the toilet
  • really scrub the bathtub

(since I knew I’d need to do more scrubbing I decided to draw the curtain and go back later when I have more time to deep clean)

At this point I had a few minutes left so I took these pictures then did the hallway.

Before:

DSC_0043(Above: it’s hard to see but there’s a white extension cord on the top left corner which collects dust and dog hair)

What I did:

  • swept the hallway
  • picked up the rug and shook it out

Really you can’t tell the difference so I didn’t take an after pic :-p

What I’d do with 5 more minutes:

  • dust all the pictures in the hallway
  • clean the baseboards since they’re pretty dusty

Since I don’t really need a full 15 minutes to clean the hallway it usually gets added on like this. It’s kinda fun to “beat the clock” even when I know I’ll spend another 15-20 minutes scrubbing the bathtub and cleaning the toilet later. Neither are terrible but I want to do the job right.

Note: I did finish up the bathroom on Saturday. Using a 50/50 mixture of white vinegar and dish soap I mixed that up in a spray bottle and then doused the tub. I used a dish scrubber to wipe down the tub and rinsed it out with hot water. Because the drain was a little slow I followed that up by dumping baking soda in the tub and sink drains, adding vinegar and flushing with hot water.

This entry was posted in Housework. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 15 Minute Speed Clean : Bathroom & Hallway

  1. Pingback: 15 Minute Speed Cleaning | My Friend Kelly

Leave a Reply

