One More Goal

I’ve got one more resolution for 2010: I’m breaking up with paper.

My library shall remain in tact, there’s no ebook reader in my immediate future.

But when it comes to paper towels, napkins and newspapers I’m giving up paper.  Most cost savings will come from paper towels, for cleaning I’ll use the stack of cleaning rags:

The easiest way to find these rags is cut up old towels into washcloth size.

Instead of paper napkins I use a bunches of cloth napkins:

How to make your own cloth napkins using this tutorial.

Usually when I buy newspapers the bulk of it is thrown out with the recycling.  So instead I’m increasing my online follows and blog roll, looking for fresh and interesting content that’s not 12 hours old by the time it’s delivered to market.   All in all, replacing the paper I consume each year with the minimum quantity.

This entry was posted in Goals, Housework. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to One More Goal

  1. georgia says:

    YOU ARE THE REASON PRINT MEDIA IS DYING. Somewhere Dave Eggers is shaking his head at you, reproachfully.

  2. Jessica says:

    I’ve got a modified version of this goal for this year…by the end of it, though. Right now, we’re down to four rolls of PT a month, and I’d like to eliminate paper napkins by making some cloth of our own. We do still get the Sunday paper for coupons, though, and I don’t think I’ll stop doing that.

    I’m with you on the e-reader thing…great idea, but not for me. I need to turn pages.

  3. Nitza19 says:

    DF got a Kindle for Christmas from his parents. He sent it back to Amazon and got real books. Lol.

  4. Dana from Alabama says:

    I broke up with paper a year or so ago, and it’s been great. We do keep a roll of paper towels around for things like cooking bacon (does NOT work well with cloths) and picking up dead bugs or doggy accidents. Sometimes, it’s nice to be able to pick something nasty and just throw it away. But we’re down to about a roll every two months!

    We also use cloth napkins, although we pick up extra paper napkins whenever we get fast food (Chick-fil-a usually, and that’s not that often) to have on hand. They’re also nice to keep in the car.

  5. Pingback: Kitchen Update « My Friend Kelly

  6. Pingback: Being Frugal in a High Cost of Living Area :: Money Saving Mom℠

  7. Jeanne says:

    That’s great. I’m not ready to forgo all paper, since I use a paper towel to wipe off each fruit and vegetable I eat after washing it, but I only buy products made with 100% recycled paper, that doesn’t use any chlorine or fragrance in them. That includes my tissues and toilet paper too. I use rags to clean with, that are from old clothes. Frugal, green and organic rules!

Leave a Reply

